What are the fees for a permit?
Fees for all types of permits are based upon the actual/estimated cost of the project, including materials and labor. The fees are: $25 for the first $1,000 and $14 for each additional $1,000 for project under 75,000 square feet. Certificates of Occupancy cost $50 each for residential and $75 for commercial projects. Projects over 75,000 square feet have fees of $30 for the first $1,000 and $20 for each additional $1,000.
Can a homeowner work on his/her own house?
A homeowner can only work on his/her own home provided that the home is single family, owner occupied. If the house is rental property or multi-family, a Connecticut licensed contractor must perform the work desired.
What is a Plot Plan and an As Built Plot Plan?
A Plot Plan is a drawing prepared by a licensed surveyor showing property lines and proposed building locations. An As Built Plot Plan is also drawn by a licensed surveyor but shows the building on the lot ’As Built’ and shows the property lines and usually any water and sewer connections from the street to the building.
Where can I obtain a plot plan or as built plot plan?
The Building Department has on file plans for residential homes only as old as mid-1970’s. You can check with the City Clerk’s office to see if they have any on file prior to the 1970’s.
Why are building permits required?
A building permit serves as formal and legal permission to start any construction job. The issuance of a building permit indicates that plans for a new structure, addition, alteration, renovation, foundation, plumbing, heating and air conditioning, electrical, prefabricated structure, etc. have been approved by building officials and comply with mandated building codes and zoning regulations.
How do I know if I need to apply for a building permit?
A building, electrical, plumbing or mechanical permit is required for all new types of construction, additions, renovations, alterations, and the types listed above next to the permit type.
Is there a certain cost that determines if a permit is required?
No. Any job which fits the above criteria requires a permit.
What codes are used in Meriden, Connecticut?
Copy and paste this link in a browser (sorry couldn't hyperlink it): http://www.cityofmeriden.org/FormRepository/Admin/processDownload.asp?ID=466
What is Public Act 95-320?
Public Act 95-320 became effective October 1, 1995. This law requires proof that property taxes have been paid on the property. If taxes are delinquent, a permit will not be issued.