Standing Committees

There are several Council standing committees, organized by municipal functions such as economic development, public safety, and health and human services, which conduct the majority of the Council’s activities at regularly scheduled meetings. The standing committees hold public hearings, review Council referrals, and forward recommendations to the City Council for its consideration and approval. No ordinances or proposed bylaws can be approved by the Council until an appropriate Council Committee has held a public hearing on the item in question. The Clerk to the Council Committee reports to the Chairperson of the Standing Committee.

Since meeting dates may change due to holidays and other special events, citizens are encouraged to check the date and time of each meeting with the Clerk to the City Council by calling 203-630-4125 weekdays 9:00 am to 5:00 pm.
Meeting minutes and agendas can be found here. 

Economic Development, Housing, & Zoning Committee

(meets third Tuesday of the month at 5:30 pm)

  • Michael Rohde, Chairperson 
  • Daniel Brunet, Vice-Chairperson
  • Bruce Fontanella
  • Yvette Cortez
  • Sonya Jelks

Finance Committee

(meets fourth Tuesday of the month at 5:30 pm)

  • Yvette Cortez, Chairperson
  • Nicole Tomassetti, Vice-Chairperson
  • Michael Cardona
  • Daniel Brunet
  • Michael Carabetta

Human Services Committee

(meets first Tuesday of the month, except for January and September, at 5:30 pm)

  • Krystle Blake, Chairperson
  • Bob Williams, Jr., Vice-Chairperson 
  • Michael Rohde
  • Bruce Fontanella
  • Ray Ouellet

Personnel Committee

  • Larue A. Graham, Chairperson
  • Michael Cardona, Vice-Chairperson
  • Sonya Jelks
  • Michael Carabetta
  • Ray Ouellet

Public Safety Committee

(meets second Wednesday of the month at 5:30 pm)

  • Michael Cardona, Chairperson
  • Krystle Blake-Vice-Chairperson
  • Nicole Tomassetti
  • Yvette Cortez
  • Bob Williams, Jr.

Public Works - Parks & Recreation Committee

(meets second Tuesday of the month at 5:30 pm)

  • Sonya Jelks, Chairperson
  • Larue A. Graham, Vice-Chairperson
  • Bruce Fontanella
  • Daniel Brunet
  • Bob Williams, Jr.


  • Aviation: Sonya Jelks
  • Board of Education: Krystle Blake
  • Conservation Commission: Sonya Jelks
  • Census Count Committee: Michael Cardona
  • Flood Control Implementation Agency: Cathy Battista
  • Golf Commission: Nicole Tomassetti, Michael Carabetta
  • Health Insurance Committee: Michael Cardona, Dan Brunet, Krystle Blake
  • Labor: Larue A. Graham
  • Library Building Committee: Bruce Fontanella, Yvette Cortez
  • Meriden Housing Authority: Bruce Fontanella
  • Meriden Linear Trails Advisory Committee: Sonya Jelks
  • Pension Board: Nicole Tomassetti, Dan Brunet
  • School Building Committee: Bruce Fontanella